Ishita Chatterjee

Senior Implementation Engineer


My main role is to decide how a design will be realised in the actual world, when the chips are manufactured, to go into your favourite gadgets!

The freedom I get to make the deigns I want a reality is great. The freedom of communicating myself without any fears is a great add on. The trust that is put into the employees is enjoyable.

A typical day at work, for me, is to achieve my daily set goals in the project that I work in that current period of time. To be able to talk with others in the team and to ensure that everything is working towards the set goal. Apart from the direct engineering roles, I also help and solve issues my colleagues are faced with. I also help in bringing new graduates upto speed with the work we do and also provide continual support to them. As an add on I am the Team Arm Champion for the Sheffield Arm Office. In this role, I head and manage all our volunteering/ community engagement/ educational outreach and fundraising initiatives, per year.

1. I completed my Bachelors in Engineering, Electronics and Communication Engineering, in the year 2016, from PES Institute of Technology, Bangalore, India. 2. After my undergraduation, I joined as a Global Software Engineer in Hewlett Packard Enterprise (HPE). However, I really wanted to do my Masters, for which I had started the process in March 2016. As the application processes, both with the university and for visa, were a success, I resigned from my role in HPE and started prepping to catch a flight to Sheffield. 3. I joined The University of Sheffield, in the same year, to start my Masters degree course, on a Student Visa (Tier 4). 4. I completed my Masters in Science (Eng), Advanced Control and Systems Engineering, in the year 2017 (formal graduation ceremony was in January 2018). 5. Soon after completing my Master's dissertation, I joined Arm as a Graduate Implementation Engineer, in September 2017. This is when I applied, through my company, to convert my existing Student Visa (Tier 4) to a Skilled Worker Visa (Tier 2 General). Following which I have been working at Arm, on a Tier 2 Visa, since February 2018. 7. I have progressed since then and am looking forward to my future progressions.

In the future, I would like to be well established in my career, where people can turn to me to solve particular issues. In the more distant future, I want to be able to open a gallery/institutions, where people can learn and develop various vocational courses. I intend to have a few pieces of art created by me, displayed here. This has been my dream legacy since I was a child.

I have a YouTube channel - IT Fungama. I love everything performing and fine arts related. I love dancing (I am trained in an Indian Classical Form), singing, art, craft, photography, videography, cooking and much more. My YouTube channel is a medium to share all of these special interests with a wider audience.

“For me, a Woman in STEM is no different than a Man in STEM. Though the society or how organisational structures have been, historically or still are in some cases, could make one feel otherwise. It just means, that I am a human being, of the female gender who loves and is good at Science/Technology/Engineering/Maths or a combination of these domains.”